TheNorthernLights_PhillipPullmanThis book is a re-read for me.  I decided I wanted to read a book that sparked an interest in me to read fantasy books and BAM that book would be The Northern Lights by Phillip Pullman.  Of course, there is Harry Potter BUT I think I read this before I started Harry Potter..I think.

Anyways, I found this book absolutely awesome. It’s based around the adventures of our main character, Lyra, who is raised in Oxford University and surrounded by respected scholars.  Her life is  pretty boring, at least from the perspective of a child, because she doesn’t do any of the regular things but she’s found a way to be mischievous and play with the servant kids.

One day her uncle visits the University and does a presentation, which she isn’t supposed to see and is captivated by the amazing things he talks about. His discoveries in the North, particles, known as Dust, that hold secrets of another world.  This, and many other things, sparks an interest in Lyra and she starts to ask questions.  The more questions she asks, the less answers she gets and the stranger things become.  She eventually meets Mrs Coulter, who is a lovely, sweet and charming lady who captivates Lyras attention.  Until Lyra finds out that Mrs Coulter is going to take her away.

She starts on a new journey of where she finds herself questioning everything she’s ever known, as well as discovering new things about herself that she never knew existed. Basically, she goes on an epic adventure that has me sitting at the edge of my seat wondering what is going to happen next.

I absolutely loved this book because of the adventure aspect of it.  She starts of in London and ends up in, what I assume is, the North Pole. I don’t want to say too much because I will end up spoiling the book for anyone who hasn’t read it yet.  I love Lyra’s character, she’s a stubborn, wild young girl.  Full of enthusiasm and determination. She doesn’t back down from any challenge and is quick to think of what needs to be done.

I love how the book focussed on her and her character development.  You do meet other characters, and you learn a lot about them but you don’t see as much of them in comparison to Lyra. Probably the only two characters who have massive character changes would be Lyra’s uncle and Mrs Coulter. I wish there was more information about Farder Coram, because I had no idea who he was and how he came to be, but I think that’s just because of my own personal interest in that character.

I felt like I was watching a movie while reading this.  Just imagining all the different places she was going and all the things she learnt a long the way.  There were times when I wanted to cry, but they were very few. Most of the time I wanted to go on a ship and travel to some unknown land and complete all these super awesome missions.  I think this is an awesome book, I would definitely recommend it to any child or anyone who loves reading YA books, I’m not sure if I would recommend this to an adult, even though I have had a few adults tell me they have read it.

Overall I give this book 4.5 out of 5 stars. It loses half because I wanted more character development for Farder Coram lol.

Thanks for reading

Fully Booked x

